Doctor Who and Sherlock to battle it out at awards

Current Doctor Who Matt Smith will go head to head with Sherlock star Benedict Cumberbatch for one of the top prizes at the 2011 National TV Awards.

Both stars will battle it out in the Best Drama Performance category at the ceremony which is due to take place later this month.

However they will face stiff competition from Philip Glenister for his reprisal of Gene Hunt in Ashes To Ashes, and five-times winner David Jason for A Touch Of Frost.

Doctor Who and Sherlock will also compete for Best Drama, alongside Channel 4’s Shameless and the BBC1 series Waterloo Road.

In other categories, Ant and Dec are hoping to win Best Entertainment Presenter for the 10th year running, although the competitive shortlist also includes Dermot O’Leary for The X Factor, Davina McCall for Big Brother and Paul O’Grady for his latest show Paul O’Grady Live.

The X Factor is also nominated in the Best Talent Show category, along with Britain’s Got Talent, Strictly Come Dancing and Dancing On Ice.

The winners – which are voted for by viewers – will be revealed on January 26, in a ceremony hosted by Dermot O’Leary at London’s O2 Arena.