The British Soap Awards 2017: When they’re on, where they’re being held and everything else you need to know

The British Soap Awards 2017 are just around the corner. Here is everything you need to know about the biggest night in British soaps, from when it starts, who is nominated and how to vote!

The British Soap Awards 2017 are about to dominate our TV lives again!

The awards are revered by fans and actors as the most exciting night of the year for British soaps. The night is an occasion to recognise the talent and achievements in the country’s most popular television genre. They were first launched in 1999 and this year will be the awards’ 19th ceremony.

For the first time in the British Soap Awards’ history, the show will be broadcast live. With all the soap stars in one place and the pressure of filming live, will it run without any mishaps? You’ll have to tune in to see…

Each year the five biggest soaps on British television battle it out and this year is no different. EastEnders, Coronation Street, Doctors, Emmerdale and Hollyoaks will all be fighting for the top spot. Regardless of the result the stars are sure to be all smiles as they grace the glamorous red carpet.

Once again all the soaps have included dramatic storylines from murders, break-ups, new romances and sad departures. It is safe to say the last 12 months have been eventful. Read who What’s on TV believes will be this year’s British Soap Awards winners.

When are the British Soap Awards 2017 happening?

the lowry theatre manchester

The awards take place on Saturday, June 3rd and are hosted in The Lowry Theatre, Manchester (last year they were held in London’s Hackney Empire). Tickets for the event have now sold out, but you can watch all the drama unfold from the comfort of your sofa. They’re being broadcast live on ITV from 8pm.

The Soap Awards have traditionally been pre-recorded and broadcast on ITV, but this meant viewers already knew who had won the awards as the results were published in advance of the programme. This will be the first year the public will find out the results as the winners do – an exciting development!

Who is hosting the British Soap Awards?

phillip schofield

The host for the night is the ever-present Phillip Schofield, so well-known for his cheeky humour and on-screen banter with Holly Willoughby on ITV’s This Morning. Phillip will host the evening and will be joined by a mix of other well-known faces from across the showbiz world. Will he be on his best behaviour? We hope not! He has hosted the awards since 2006 and seems to have picked up a thing or two.

Phillip has previously revealed that he rattles through the awards so that everyone can get to the bar. He knows how to keep the guests happy, but how will he handle the pressure of presenting the Soap Awards live?

What happens at the British Soap Awards?

There are 15 awards to be won on the night and these are voted for either by the public or a panel of expert judges. Take a look at our predictions for the British Soap Awards nominations

How do I vote in the British Soap Awards?

What’s On TV are the official voting partner for the soap awards. To help your favourite soap, actor and actress win, head to the British Soap Awards voting. But please be aware that voting closes on Friday, May 26. For all the latest updates you can also follow the British soap awards on Instagram @thebritishsoapawards, Facebook @BritishSoapAwards and Twitter @soapawards

Who are the reigning British Soap Awards champions?

Emmerdale broke it’s hoodoo and was named Best Soap for the first time ever in 2016.


  • Best Actor – Danny Miller (Aaron Livesy, Emmerdale)
  • Best Actress – Lacey Turner (Stacey Branning, ‘EastEnders’)
  • Villain of the Year – Connor McIntyre (Pat Phelan, ‘Coronation Street’)
  • Best Comedy Performance – Patti Clare (Mary Taylor, Coronation Street)
  • Best Newcomer – Bonnie Langford (Carmel Kazemi, EastEnders)
  • Best Storyline – EastEnders, Stacey’s Postpartum Psychosis
  • Best Single Episode – Doctors, The Heart of England
  • Best Male Dramatic Performance – Danny Miller (Aaron Livesy, Emmerdale)
  • Best Female Dramatic Performance – Lacey Turner (Stacey Branning, EastEnders)
  • Best On-Screen Partnership – Sally Dynevor and Joe Duttine (Sally Webster and Tim Metcalfe, Coronation Street)
  • Best Young Performance – Ruby O’Donnell (Peri Lomax, Hollyoaks)
  • Scene of the Year – Emmerdale: Val’s death
  • Outstanding Achievement Award (On-Screen) – Steve McFadden, EastEnders
  • The Tony Warren Award (Off-Screen) – the late James Bain: formerly Coronation Street and Emmerdale casting director

Latest TV News