Abba legends Benny Andersson and Bjorn Ulvaeus are writing the theme tune for this year’s Eurovision Song Contest, organisers have announced.

The BBC reports that Benny and Bjorn will team up with Swedish electonic producer and DJ Avicii to write the tune for the event in Malmo, Sweden.

We Write the Story will be performed for the first time at the opening of the grand final on 18 May. Sweden will be hosting the competition for the fifth time after pop singer Loreen won last year with Euphoria.

Eurovision producer Martin Osterdahl said: “We are extremely delighted to announce that Benny, Bjorn and Avicii have accepted to compose a unique piece of music for the 2013 Eurovision Song Contest.”

Benny and Bjorn said they agreed with host broadcaster SVT’s ‘vision for the contest’.

“This led us on to the assignment to collaborate with Avicii on a piece of mutual understanding and fellowship,” they said, adding, “It’s a lot of fun and very inspiring.”

Abba are the most successful group to come out of the contest after winning with Waterloo in 1974.