The Queen is the official starter, pushing the start button to the London Marathon from Windsor Castle at 10am as 40,000 runners set off from Blackheath.

In the men’s elite, Mo Farah makes his first appearance since switching to road racing, and in the women’s, three-time winner Mary Keitany eyes the world record.