London Marathon

Live coverage of this year's London Marathon

Last year’s Marathon saw Kenya’s Eliud Kipchoge set the all-time record on the course, coming in at 2:03:05 – just eight seconds off the world record.

We could soon be looking at a marathon being won in under two hours, which is nothing short of astonishing.

Also racing will be Britain’s Jo Pavey (recently awarded World Championship bronze for a 2007 race, upgraded from fourth after the silver medallist was found guilty of doping) and Paralympic champion David Weir, who won the Paris Marathon this month.

There’s talk he’ll retire after this race – he will be sorely missed.