Rafael Nadal has won the Monte-Carlo Masters a record nine times – eight in an amazing streak from 2005 to 2012 (the only player to have won the same tournament that many times).

The current champion, Nadal will be encouraged by news that Roger Federer (who recently beat him in Miami) is likely to sit the competition out, and Andy Murray will struggle to be fit after an injury.

Could this be a 10th Nadal win?