Sports Personality of the Year

Will Andy Murray be a three-time winner as Sports Personality of the Year tonight?

From the carnival of the Rio Olympics to Wales’s glorious Euro 2016 run and Leicester City’s Premier League win, it’s been a special year, and Clare Balding, Gabby Logan and Gary Lineker are in Birmingham to celebrate sporting achievement.

Andy Murray is hot favourite to become the first three-time recipient of the BBC’s award, with a Wimbledon win, Olympic gold and becoming World No 1.

But don’t discount Rio aces Laura Trott, Helen Glover and Heather Stanning, Max Whitlock, Jason Kenny, Alistair Brownlee and Mo Farah.

Then again, given our recent inaccurate forecasts of public votes, maybe Ellen Falkner – now a triple World Indoor Bowls champion – will triumph…