Alain Robbe-Grillet – Six Films (1963-1974) | Blu-ray/DVD release – The controversial filmmaker’s enigmatic films collected together for first time


Nouveau roman author, auteur and Académie française member, Alain Robbe-Grillet (1922-2008) is part of cinema legend, having penned Alain Resnais’ classic 1961 film Last Year at Marienbad. But for many years Robbe-Grillet’s stylish, sexually provocative, genre-busting films have only ever been the preserve of arthouse cinephiles and serious film theorists. Now for the first time in the UK, world cinema fans have a chance to explore his unique, uncompromising vision as the BFI brings together his first six features, all remastered in High Definition, and accompanied by some welcoming extras (especially for the uninitiated).


The Immortal One (L’Immortelle) (1963)
Trans-Europ-Express (1967)
The Man Who Lies (L’Homme qui ment) (1968)
Eden and After (L’Eden et après) (1970)
N Took the Dice (N a pris les dés…) (1971)
Successive Slidings of Pleasure (Glissements progressifs du plaisir) (1974)


• All six films presented in High Definition on Blu-ray (in the original aspect ratio 1.33:1 and 1.66:1, with PCM mono audio), and digitally remastered in High Definition on DVD (original aspect ratio 1.33:1 and 1.66:1, and Dolby Digital mono audio)
• Introductions by Catherine Robbe-Grillet
• Filmed interviews with Alain Robbe-Grillet by critic Frederic Taddei (2007)
• Full-length audio commentaries for each film by Video Watchdog‘s Tim Lucas