Fans asked to choose Britain’s King or Queen of comedy

The 24th British Comedy Awards are hurtling towards us and will see nominees such as Mel and Sue, Ant & Dec, Adam Hills, James Corden and Miranda Hart jostling for an award.

But it’s the coveted title of King or Queen of Comedy that is today’s hot topic. Just who will be the newest member of the Royal Family of funny? Who will spend the next year luxuriating in laughter from their comedy castle? Will current King Jack Whitehall keep his crown or be booted from the Throne of Fun? Only you, British public, can decide!

The King or Queen is the only category at the comedy awards where the public chooses the winner. Voting is open now.

The winner will be announced live on December 12 on Channel 4 by incumbent king Jack Whitehall with voting running right up until approximately 10pm on the night. This year Jack Whitehall will be valiantly defending his comedy crown against 2011’s Queen of Comedy, Sarah Millican, as well as co-star of Peep Show David Mitchell, not one but two chat show supremos Alan Carr and Graham Norton and BAFTA-winning comedian and multi-award winning stand up Lee Mack.

Jonathan Ross, mischievous host of The British Comedy Awards, will front this year’s awards live from 9pm. Lauren Laverne and new co-host Angelos Epithemiou will preside over the raucous Live Lock-In Party on E4 from 11pm, catching giddy winners as they step off stage. 

There are 15 categories in this year’s British Comedy Awards, including Best New British TV Comedy, Best Sitcom, Best Comedy Actor and Actress, Outstanding Achievement Award, The Writer’s Guild of Great Britain Award and the award for International Achievement. 

Click here for more information.


Latest TV News