Sports Personality Of The Year 2014 is a “speechless” Lewis Hamilton

Reigning Formula 1 champion Lewis Hamilton has won the BBC’s Sports Personality Of The Year award in the annual ceremony on Sunday night, which was televised live on BBC1 from the SSE Hydro in Glasgow.

Lewis, who has twice been runner-up for the award, took the coveted prize ahead of golfer Rory McIlroy and champion long-distance runner Jo Pavey. He succeeds tennis player Andy Murray, who took the title in 2013.

“I am speechless,” said Lewis. “I’m so proud and honoured to be among such great British sporting talent.

“I want to say a huge thank-you to all the people who voted. I honestly was not expecting this.

“I couldn’t have done this without my amazing team. I want to thank my family, my dad, who had four jobs at one stage, just to get me go-karting and never gave up on me.

“I never in a million years thought I would be up here, standing with the greats. 

“I’m so speechless right now. It’s been such an amazing year. Thank you to all the fans for your support. I always say that we win and we lose together. I really feel your love when you come to the races. And I feel so proud to carry the Union Jack. I hope I can continue to make you proud alongside all these greats.”

Lewis was presented with the award by former Scottish international footballer and ex-Liverpool manager Kenny Dalglish.

This is the seventh time a Formula 1 driver has won the prize, with Stirling Moss winning it in 1961, Jackie Stewart in 1973, Nigel Mansell in 1986 and 1992, Damon Hill in 1994 and 1996.