Sports Personality of the Year Helen Rollason Award goes to competitors of Invictus Games

The BBC Sports Personality of the Year 2014 Helen Rollason Award will tonight (Sunday, December 14) be awarded to the 413 competitors from across the world who competed in this year’s Invictus Games, and will be presented by His Royal Highness Prince Harry.

Prince Harry will be introducing over 30 Invictus Games competitors,on to the stage at the SSE Hydro in Glasgow during the live show on BBC1, which starts at 8.00pm.

Prince Harry founded the Invictus Games and brought the event to an international audience following his visit to the Warrior Games in Colorado in 2013. The event in London earlier this year brought together for the first time over 400 servicemen and women – both serving and veteran – from 13 nations.

Receiving the Helen Rollason award on behalf of the athletes, which is given in recognition of outstanding achievement in the face of adversity, will be captain of the UK team, Dave Henson (pictured with Prince Harry).

Dave Henson said: “To be recognised formally with the Helen Rollason Award is the icing on the cake of our Invictus adventure. The whole experience has been overwhelming and the support we’ve received over the course of the Games has been utterly humbling. Every single competitor will be so proud to be recognised for their strength and courage in the face of extreme adversity.”

The Helen Rollason Award is presented at Sports Personality of the Year in memory of the BBC presenter, who died 15 years ago in 1999 at the age of 43 after suffering from cancer.

Previous winners include racehorse trainer Jenny Pitman, Hillsborough campaigner Anne Williams (posthumous), Paralympian Baroness Tanni Grey-Thompson, fundraiser Jane Tomlinson, sailor Ellen MacArthur, Formula One’s Frank Williams, and snooker player Paul Hunter (posthumous).