Surprises at TV Baftas as favourites miss out

There were a few surprises at the TV Bafta awards in London on Sunday night – with several of the favourites missing out on prizes.

Among those who went home empty-handed were Doctor Who”>Doctor Who star Matt Smith, who missed out on the Best Actor prize for his role in the show.

Instead the award went to actor Daniel Rigby for his portrayal of funnyman Eric Morecambe in the drama Eric and Ernie.

And ITV’s costume drama hit Downton Abbey, which had been in the running for the Best Drama Series category as well as the Youtube Audience award, went home empty-handed.

Instead, the prize went to The Only Way Is Essex, which also fought off competition from Sherlock and Big Fat Gypsy Weddings.

“We’re absolutely overwhelmed to be here tonight, even to be nominated,” said Mark Wright, one of several cast members from the show who crowded on stage to pick up the award. “But to win, it’s incredible.”

Elsewhere Vicky McClure was voted Best Actress for her role in the Channel 4 drama This Is England ’86 – and there was good news for the ceremony’s host Graham Norton, who won the Best Entertainment Performance award for The Graham Norton Show.

“This is incredible, we used to win these years ago and I’d forgotten how nice it is,” he said.

And there were a few surprises in the other categories, with Jo Brand winning the Best Female Comedy Performance award for her role in Getting On, ahead of the favourite Miranda Hart.

The comedienne said she was “flabbergasted” to have won, “because over the years,” she added, “I have been so slagged off for my acting ability by the critics.”

Harry and Paul – the most recent effort from Harry Enfield and Paul Whitehouse – was the surprise winner of the Best Comedy award while The X Factor lost out in the Best Entertainment Programme category to ITV1’s game show hit The Cube.

In the International category, Swedish drama The Killing fought off competition from Glee, Mad Men and Boardwalk Empire.

The final award of the night, the Bafta Fellowship, was given to veteran newscaster Trevor McDonald for his “outstanding and exceptional contribution” to TV news.

Latest TV News