X Factor winner Ben Haenow parts company with Simon Cowell’s record label

The X Factor winner Ben Haenow has parted ways with Simon Cowell’s firm Syco.

The singer, a former van driver from Croydon, south London, triumphed on the ITV show in 2014, with his winner’s single becoming the Christmas number one, but he hasn’t repeated that success since.

Ben Haenow

Ben Haenow (Ben Birchall/PA)


His departure from Cowell’s record label comes less than three months after the release of his debut album.

Ben, 31, posted a link to a statement on Twitter in which he says that, after discussions with the Syco team, they ‘both felt it was the right time to move on’.


He wrote: “So I wanted to let you all know directly from me, that after what has been the most incredible experience working on my debut album, myself and Syco entertainment have decided to part ways.

“Working with The X Factor and Syco has been the most amazing time of my life and has given me the best possible platform for the start of my career. I have the utmost respect for them both and cannot thank them enough for all the help and everything they have done for me this past year.

“I have had the privilege of working with some incredible people, making some great friends and making a great record which I am still extremely proud of. (Which, thanks to you lot has gone on to sell over 100k copies and still going).

“However, after discussions with the Syco team, we both felt it was the right time to move on.”

Ben said he is already writing and in talks about his next album.

Ben Haenow

Ben Haenow (Ian West/PA)


He said there are going to be a few changes to his upcoming tour dates, and thanked his fans for their support, which he said has made him feel like ‘the proudest and luckiest person alive’.

It is not the first time a winner of Cowell’s talent show has parted company with the music supremo’s firm not long after their win.

Sam Bailey, a former prison guard from Leicester who won the show in 2013, told fans last February that she was ‘genuinely happy’ despite being dropped from her record deal with Syco.

Sam Bailey

Sam Bailey (Yui Mok/PA)


James Arthur, who won the contest in 2012, confirmed his departure from Cowell’s label in June 2014 after months of speculation and a series of controversies.

Matt Cardle was the winner in 2010, but, despite beating One Direction to win the show, he was soon eclipsed by the boyband.

He parted company with Syco two years after his victory, saying he would ‘just have been left to get on with it while One Direction ruled the planet’.

2009 winner Joe McElderry’s career started on the wrong foot when his solo debut single, The Climb, missed out on the Christmas number one after losing out to an anti-X Factor campaign which pushed Rage Against The Machine’s Killing In The Name to the top spot.

He managed to top the charts the following week but, when the second single from his debut album only made it to number 68, he was soon dropped.

Joe McElderry

Joe McElderry (Ian West/PA)


Steve Brookstein won in 2004 – the first ever winner of the show who went on to become one of its biggest critics.


He scored a number one with his first release, but ended up being dropped less than a year later.

Brookstein tweeted: “Simon Cowell has dumped Ben Haenow. Saw it coming but says more about Cowell than Ben.”


Latest TV News